The Sleeping Giant and The Sleepless Consultant

I have posted my July article for The Hour on the Taking a Hike page, and made April’s piece (“Paradise Lane”) available in full via the drop-down menu.

White trail, Sleeping Giant State Park, CTThe new article is about the Sleeping Giant – a gem of a state park near New Haven that I had managed to ignore for 15 years. The photo to the right (NOT the one below!) shows a typically rough section of trail. April’s article described a climb up Bear Mountain on the Paradise Lane Trail, going from spring to winter and back again in a few hours.

Parc national des Hautes-Gorges-de-la-Riviere Malbaie

It has been over a month since my last post. Mostly I have seen Summer 2013 from the windows of a Metro-North train and Midtown office. I have been working late, so late that one night I had to check into a hotel near the office if I was to get any sleep at all. But my youngest daughter and I did get away to Quebec for a week. I plan to make the hikes we did in the Charlevoix region the subject of August’s article for The Hour, and no doubt of a post or two once this consulting gig is over and I am caught up on sleep. But, just as a taster, above is a photo from the first summit of “L’Acropole des Draveurs” in the Parc national des Hautes-Gorges-de-la-Rivière-Malbaie – the river was 2,300 feet beneath us.

Leave a Reply

