Wandering the White Mountains

Pemi - Owl's Head from Mt Garfield No one should be surprised that my Taking a Hike column for The Hour is about the White Mountains this month. It covers the backpacking trip that was the subject of my last four posts, and then gives three suggestions for short hikes in and around Franconia Notch and Crawford Notch state parks. You can read it here on The Hour website.

Three months ago the column was about Sleeping Giant SP, near New Haven CT. As usual, I have now made that article available in full via this blog’s Taking a Hike tab – or just click here. How the seasons change – there were biting bugs and stifling humidity in July, and the woods were uniformly green. Give me fall any day.

I am not sure what is coming up next. I really need to get down to sustained desk-work. But there will be plenty of day hikes. As for backpacking, I think the CT AT is off the agenda for this fall, but my eldest is still very keen on the Great Smokies in the spring. And this Saturday is the CT Chapter of the Appalachian Mountain Club’s “AT Day”. Now that the government is back at work, and therefore the AT officially open, I plan to join a work party building rock steps. It seems only fair after all my trail usage up in the Whites!

Leave a Reply

