Taking a Hike – Solo Hiking, Group Hiking

The Hiltebeitel Trail, Devil's Den, Weston CT -- destination of one of my AMC hikes

The Hiltebeitel Trail, Devil’s Den, Weston CT — destination of one of my AMC hikes

“Taking a Hike”, my monthly column, has now been published for October at both The Hour and Hersam-Acorn Arts & Leisure. It’s a bit of a ramble (appropriate, I suppose) on the pros and cons of hiking alone versus in company; and how I have started to appreciate social hiking more, helped along by two fun group hikes I organized for the AMC at the Devil’s Den in Weston, CT.

July’s “Taking a Hike” – a very solitary walk in the Catskill Mountains – is now available in full on this site (via the Taking a Hike tab – 2014: “Jul – Panther Mountain” – or by clicking here). Thinking back to its voiceless woods, I know I will never give up solo hiking entirely. There are photos for this hike here.

Leave a Reply

