Taking a Hike – The Gunks

blueberry-run-trail-minnewaska-sp-preserve

Beside the Blueberry Run Trail, Minnewaska SP Preserve

Most months, after my column is published, I post a link to it on a Facebook group for my town. Usually, I get a handful of likes and that’s it. Having started February’s Taking a Hike saying that the Gunks (= Shawangunks = Shawangunk Ridge or Mountains) were not especially well known, I belied my own contention by generating much more “engagement” than usual – lots of likes, a couple of loves, comments, questions, even a photo. One guy said that his son is Chief Ranger at one of the Gunks preserves! Maybe those Gunks are a bigger name than I thought.

Anyway, February’s Taking a Hike:

Spring in the Gunks – in January! at Hersam Acorn.
Shawangunk Mountains worth getting to know at The Hour.

Leave a Reply

