Day Hike Notes – Peoples State Forest

West Branch Farmington River

West Branch Farmington River from the Jessie Gerard Trail

I was supposed to go hiking on Friday, but it snowed. The snow did not look from the forecast as if it would pose a problem for hiking, but it might make for a slick drive to the trailhead, so my daughter and I postponed. On Saturday, I felt restless, in need of exercise and a change of scene, so I made plans for a Sunday outing. I leafed through AMC’s Best Day Hikes in Connecticut and settled on Number 20, Peoples State Forest (compelling attributes, “strenuous” and “incredible mountain views”). I had never hiked Peoples before. It did turn out to be strenuous, but only for a half-mile, until those incredible mountain views. Thereafter, the only difficulty was a wind that caught me when I stopped to admire – and photograph – a swamp. I would surely have ended up with frostnipped fingers if I had kept my gloves off any longer than I did. Otherwise, this was a near-perfect short hike.

DATE: Sunday, March 12th.
START & FINISH: East River Road, Barkhamsted, CT.
ROUTE: Falls Cut Off, Jessie Gerard, Charles Pack, Agnes Bowen, and Robert Ross trails.
DISTANCE: A little under 5 miles.
TIME: 3¼ hours (9:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m.)

TERRAIN: A rough, steep climb to start, then mostly easy going. Scenery a mix of big views, attractive forest, and beautiful swamp.
MAP: Available from CT DEEP website and at the trailhead.

WEATHER: Sunny, breezy, with a p.m. high of 25 degrees.
WILDLIFE: A flight, over the swamp, of small birds I could not identify.
PHOTOS: Here.

BREAKFAST: McDonald’s, Torrington.
LUNCH: Manchego cheese on ciabatta, sat on a rock on the Robert Ross trail.
UPS: A perfect winter’s hiking day; cold and just enough snow – decoration not impediment.
DOWNS: Frosty fingers when the wind caught me with my gloves off.
KIT: Took microspikes, but did not need them. I did without water because it froze in the reservoir tube.
COMPANY: A runner; a friendly couple hiking together (carrying full packs to prepare for longer treks).

Swamp on the Charles Pack Trail

Swamp on the Charles Pack Trail

Leave a Reply

